top of page
Dark Wood

My Incomplete Review of a Book

Hello! Today I will be giving you a quick summary/reaction to the book Voices of the Future: Stories of Famliy and Fearlessness. It now ranks among my favorite books, and I wrote little summaries of each of the stories that sticks out to me. There are others, that's why this is incomplete.

Alright, go ahead and read it!

~~~~~~~~~~~~

Voices of the Future: Stories of Family and Fearlessness is a short story compilation by nine young people participating in the Author Conservatory, a college alternative for writers hoping to become authors. I recently purchased the volume- and read it. 

Each story is beautifully written, exposing character and themes within five thousand words. The first one, ‘A Book Dragon’s Story’ by Olivia G. Booms, is my favorite, but perhaps it’s just because a clumsy dragon hoping to be an author resonates with me so much.

Then you have ‘People of the Rain’ by Jenny Chasteen. Her main character is angry at everything, but mostly the weather, so she goes onto a cloud, ends up destroying the cloud because of her selfishness, but has to make it right again. I love it.

‘The Little Tire Shop’ by Abi Lyn Voss is about a girl in a family of mechanics who must mend family relationships through her art. Beautiful.

Valari Westeren’s story ‘Symbiosis’ is about a mutant plant scare- and a girl who must save her brother before the bombs drop to destroy the Forest. The way Valari shows the urgency with the watch is beautiful.

Rachel Elizabeth’s ‘Fairies in the Garden’ is about the grief of a father- and what he does to try to regain his daughter. I love how he progresses from trying to make the fairies tell him where she is to helping them and preparing a safe haven for them.

The other stories fall into the veins of these, wonderfully written, and ready to show exactly how we are broken, but can heal.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thank you for reading! If you're interested in reading these stories for yourself, you can purchase the volume here. And look at the pretty cover!



4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Borderlander Part 3

And now Halter's got to do some things... Recap: He's been kidnapped, and held in a small room!! ``````````````````` I let out a tight...

Borderlander Part 2

And now we get to some exciting part!! Recap: Halter has just been knocked unconscious ```````````````` Slowly, my feeling started coming...

Borderlander Part 1

Today started out normally. It was brisk, with a northerly wind stirring the budding green leaves. I scurried down the dirt path, my...

Comments


bottom of page