top of page
Dark Wood

Borderlander Part 2

And now we get to some exciting part!!

Recap: Halter has just been knocked unconscious

````````````````

Slowly, my feeling started coming back, and the first thing I noticed was that I was dreadfully thirsty. And my head hurt. I rub my face, blinking at the dim light. 

I’m on a sort of bed, more like a cot, actually. Not under the brown quilt, but on it. I sit up, sending my head spinning, and look around. The light was coming from a dying light bulb hanging from a rafter. 

There was a cardboard box filled with clothes, but other than the cot and myself, the room was empty. And small. 

My eyes hit what seemed to be the only exit- a solid wooden door opposite the bed. I jump up and storm it, wincing as the movement throws my sense of balance off. I pause, letting myself reorient. I need to get out of here. 

I grab hold of the metal doorknob and twist, pushing outwards.

The door doesn’t budge. I kick it, twisting the handle harder. Changing the direction of the force. Still nothing. 

No. It couldn’t be locked. Where was Issac? Was he pulling a trick on me? 

I stumbled away from the door and sat down next to the stone wall. It’s rough, and digs into my back, but I don’t really care. I want out. This space is too small. I dig my fingers into the dirt floor. “Get me out of here.” 

The door creaks open. I look up to see the man who had been there, in the park, step in. When he speaks, he doesn’t make any effort to hide the strange accent. “You are not to attempt to run, understand?” 

I stand, edging towards the center of the room. I don’t want to be caught off guard again. “Who are you and why do you sound so strange?” 

He strides to the box, pulls out a black jacket, and balls it up. “I don’t sound strange. You do.” 

He throws the jacket at me, and I catch it. “That doesn’t answer my question.”  

“Feisty, aren’t you? You don’t need to know. Maybe I’ll tell you later. Now, groundwork.” He comes closer to me, and I pull away. I can’t help but remember how he took me from my family.

I feel stupid just standing there, a black jacket in my arms. I glance at the door. I might be able to go right through him. It depended on how fast I could go. 

“Get the jacket on, kid. It’s going to get cold. Basic rules. Don’t try to run, it’s dumb and you aren’t going to succeed. Don’t draw attention. You’ll end up hurt or worse.” He rummages through his pocket and comes up with a folding knife. “If I give this to you, would you attack me?” 

I slip the jacket over my shoulders. It’s surprisingly warm, even though the material is thinner than I expected. “Why would I attack you?” 

“Ha. A simple ‘affirmative’ or ‘negative’ would be better. Guess I’ll give it to you. Here.” He extended the knife out to me, and I take it. 

The knife feels sturdy, at least to my hands. I tighten my grip over it. I’ll be able to use it to escape, probably. 

The man nods. “I’ll leave you for now.” 

Panic floods me and my throat tightens. “Take me with you. Please.” 

A look of what might have been pity flitted across his face before it took the hardened look again. “Negative.” 

He steps from the room, closing the door behind him. 

I can hear the fatal click that tells me he’s locked it. 

Even a knife in my hand can’t help with the tenseness I feel.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Borderlander Part 3

And now Halter's got to do some things... Recap: He's been kidnapped, and held in a small room!! ``````````````````` I let out a tight...

Borderlander Part 1

Today started out normally. It was brisk, with a northerly wind stirring the budding green leaves. I scurried down the dirt path, my...

Comentários


bottom of page